my pet peeves

  1. When people use the word “lay” (past tense or transitive) when they mean “lie” (present tense or intransitive).
  2. When people talk during movies. Particularly during the really heavy scenes, and particularly when their comments demonstrate only a superficial understanding of the movie.
  3. Creationism, in both its young Earth and intelligent design varieties.
  4. Piles of dirty dishes in my sink.
  5. When my blood sugar is over 300 mg/dL.
  6. When otherwise intelligent people commit informal fallacies and respond arrogantly to counterargument.
  7. Misrepresentation of science and scientific theories by media/politicians/etc.
  8. The trump: When I catch myself doing any of these things.
2 Responses to my pet peeves

  1. Mary Beth says:

    Re: #1, I cannot say either of those words without hearing you correct me in my head. even if I’m actually using the correct one. :)
    Re: #4, I agree 110%.

  2. Pet Peeves says:

    I agree with all of these! I hate when people talk during movies! That has to be one of the most annoying. Don’t you buy the ticket to watch the movie? OH, and also when people say “Oh watch this part” . What did you think I was doing in the first place?!

Leave a Reply

