the way things used to be

  1. Rock
  2. Jetpack
  3. Swiss Army Knife
  4. Garthim
  5. Sun
  6. Swadesh list
  7. Q
3 Responses to the way things used to be

  1. Bahrom says:

    I just have to ask. What’s Garthim, Q, and what do all these things have to do with eachother. I’m a linguist, so I recognize the Swadesh list. Hmmm… maybe you’re going off to do fieldwork equipped with all these things.

  2. Joe says:

    Hey there,

    When I started this blog, I decided on the list format because I thought it would be fun and different. It’s a bit limiting sometimes, but other times it’s liberating to just put down some things on my mind and not to have to explain them! The lists range from the highly structured (e.g., recipes) to unstructured (e.g. a list of whatever things happen to cross my mind while I’m at the “Post” page). This list is one of the latter. We have:

    1. A reference to an “Arrested Development” episode, because I’ve been watching a lot of that lately,
    2. Ditto,
    3. A piece of equipment I found invaluable during a Civil Air Patrol search-and-rescue Ground Team training exercise last weekend,
    4. A creature in “The Dark Crystal,” an old Jim Henson movie I loved as a kid and recently re-watched,
    5. The big bright shiny thing that has made Ithaca, NY very nice the past few days,
    6. A linguistic construct that I remembered upon looking at an old Historical Linguistics final project (the problem was to create a list of 10 change rules that would produce the smallest/highest number of cognates between the English Swadesh list pre- and post-changes), and
    7. My Cornell Ph.D. qualifying exam, next Monday, which has rather dominated my thought process lately.

    What do all these things have to do with one another? Only that I thought of them in the same 2-minute time span! The title is a reference to the fact that when this blog started, I would literally just name things that might or might not have any connection, but lately I have been coming up with more structured lists.

    I might have to watch your blog to keep up with linguistic topics!

  3. Bahrom says:

    I’m cool with all of that!

Leave a Reply

