gotta get it in writing before tomorrow night: my theories, and theories I agree with

  1. Harry wins.  Otherwise there’s no point.
  2. Remus Lupin and Neville Longbottom die.  (Oh, yeah, and Voldemort.)
    1. Neville dies doing something incredibly outrageously heroic, that allows Harry to blast Voldy.
    2. Lupin dies for the sole reason that then Harry’s ties to his parents will be limited to Snape and Petunia Dursley, and that just seems like the kind of thing Rowling likes to do.
  3. Snape had an unbreakable vow with Dumbledore: If Snape could protect the fact that he is a double agent giving the Order of the Phoenix information on the Death Eaters only by killing Dumbledore, he must go through with it.
  4. Voldemort orders Lucius Malfoy to do something, but Malfoy botches the job.  Voldemort kills Lucius Malfoy and turns to Draco, giving him the same order; but when it comes down to it Draco hesitates and, through inaction, allows Harry to deliver the mortal blow to Voldemort.
  5. Snape gives Harry the means to destroy Voldemort.  Some piece of information, or the last horcrux, or some potion or spell.  Too bad Sirius Black isn’t around any more, ’cause if he was, I’d predict that right as Snape does that, Siruis would kill him.
  6. Three possible ideas on how Voldemort eats it, in increasing order of how likely I think they are:
    1. Voldemort casts something at Harry and it reflects back at him.  (Rowling used that one already.)
    2. The second-to-last chapter ends with Harry standing over Voldemort, who is sniveling on the ground trying to be all obsequious, and Harry speaks the words “Avada Kedavra.”  That will be the only time that any of the kids uses one of the unforgivable curses.  (I don’t think any of them is really going to be able to kedavra anyone, given how nasty you supposedly have to be to cast those spells.)
    3. A third party enters the scuffle (Snape?  Draco?  Kreacher?) and (accidentally?) knocks Voldemort back to his death.  Think Gollum destroying the One Ring.
  7. Harry will magically (gasp!) not act overly pubescent any more.
3 Responses to gotta get it in writing before tomorrow night: my theories, and theories I agree with

  1. Mary Beth says:

    I shall respond to your points in order.
    1. Duh.
    2. I can see Lupin dying. I do NOT want Neville to die. That’s not to say that I don’t think he will, but I’m not convinced it has to happen. If it does, it will likely involve avenging his parents somehow.
    3. I am still not entirely convinced that Snape is completely a good guy. I’m more convinced than I was upon first reading HBP, but I guess I’ll know everything in about 40 hours. (Yes, I’m planning to stay up tomorrow night and read until I literally cannot stay awake any longer.)
    4. It would certainly not be surprising.
    5. Interesting. I hadn’t considered that. Sounds good to me.
    6.
    1. Doubtful
    2. I’d like to believe that it will happen in a more clever way than this.
    3. I’d like to believe that Harry has a more active role in it than this.
    7. Wouldn’t that be nice.

    Are you doing the crazy stay up and read the whole book on the first night thing too? :)

  2. jshoer says:

    Well, I didn’t put up the best possible Voldemort death, which is, of course…

    “A little to the left…All right, SHOOT HIM!”

    …I’m gonna borrow the book off Nicole, who is going to one of the midnight parties dressed as a Death Eater to scare little children. I’m trying to figure out how to re-read Half-Blood Prince before I touch Deathly Hallows, because I forgot some stuff but ALL 34 COPIES of it are GONE from the town library.

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Oh geez. You could be waiting for awhile, then!

    I did the midnight thing too (though there was no dressing up), and then stayed up with my roommate and read it. Only took us until 5:30, which isn’t too bad considering by the time we actually got the book and got home it was 1:15ish. All I’ll say is–it’s good.

Leave a Reply

